Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Monthly Mix #18: August 2016

August 2016:
These songs are all about how we deal with time.  Getting reflective as the summer winds down.

1. Animal Liberation Orchestra - "The Ticket"
Finally got to see ALO again.  I bought my ticket back in April.

2. Catfish & the Bottlemen - "7"
Van McCann's lyrics give a uniquely honest perspective on relationships.

3. Anderson Paak feat. BJ the Chicago Kid - "The Waters"
More Paak.  Yes, lawd!

4. Eric Krasno - "Waiting on Your Love"
A hunk of burning funk from the Soulive/Lettuce axeman.

5. Kevin Morby - "I Have Been to the Mountain"
Dig that solo.

6. Son Little - "Nice Dreams"
Son Little's debut LP from last year is still finding new ways to affect me.

7. G. Love & Special Sauce - "Nothing Else Quite Like Home"
I went home to Ocean City, MD for a few days.  G. Love was in town, too.

8. Coin - "It's a Trap"
This is poppier than I usually like and also not about Admiral Ackbar, but it's good.

9. Radiation City - "Milky White"
This is what the new Lucius record should've sounded like.

10. Pinegrove - "New Friends"
"The end of summer and I'm still in love with her."

No comments:

Post a Comment